We have renamed a couple of things in the list of repository backups and introduced a new differentiation between archived backups with upstream to the original repository at GitHub and archived backups without upstream.
Let me explain in detail what these different states mean and how they look like:
This section contains all repositories you have at GitHub that do not have any backups. Depending on whether you have automatic backups activated or not, you will either see “Backup scheduled” or a button “Backup”. “Backup scheduled” means automatic backups has just been activated, but backups are not yet created. This usually happens between 2:00 – 6:00 am CET.
This section contains all repositories with active recurring backups. “active recurring” means we are updating the backup for this repository once a day between 2:00 – 6:00 am CET.
This section contains all repositories with backups that have been archived. Archiving means, the backup is not being updated on a daily basis. On the right side of each repository you will find the information, when the last backup has been made.
Now there are two different cases for archived backups. Firstly, a backup for a repository that is still existing at GitHub and secondly, a backup for a repository that has been removed from GitHub. When a repository at GitHub with an active backup at BackHub is being deleted at GitHub, BackHub automatically archives the backups since the upstream is no longer available.
Backups with upstream to the original repository at GitHub do have a solid border and a link to the repository at GitHub as well as an option to reactivate recurring backups.
Backups without upstream to the original repository at GitHub do have a dashed border without link to GitHub since the original repository is no longer available.
In addition to “Download Metadata” which let’s you download all metadata of your repository backup like Issues, milestones and more, you can now also download the files of a GitHub repository backup as a ZIP archive.
The archive contains a checkout of all files from the head of your default branch in your GitHub repository. It’s much like the “Download ZIP” Button you know from GitHub.
This is especially handy if you want to quickly have a look into your files without having to restore the whole repository back to GitHub.
The next milestone for downloading backups is to let you clone the complete repository so you can access your repository at any time without having to restore it back to GitHub.
Being able to download backups of your GitHub repository including issues, milestones, labels etc. has been the most requested feature since we started BackHub. You can always restore backups back to GitHub, but what if GitHub is temporarily not available or if you want to quickly have a look into the issues of a repository’s backup and you don’t have enough free private repositories in your GitHub plan to restore it?
For this reason we are releasing a new feature today that let’s you download all metadata associated with a repository, including issues, milestones, labels, releases, commit comments and review comments. They come as separate JSON files so you can easily search across all content in your preferred editor.
You’ll find the button for downloading the metadata next to the restore button in the details view of a backup:
This is just the first milestone. We are currently working on making your files available for download as well. We’re curious about your feedback.
We’re excited to announce a new feature called “Automatic Backups” available in the account settings. It makes life easier for everyone who wants to backup all of their repositories, including new ones they create at GitHub.
Once activated, BackHub will check your GitHub account every day for new repositories and create backups automatically. As more backups for private repository are created and you reach the limit of your plan, BackHub will upgrade the plan for you, so there will be no interruption of service.
If you are new to BackHub and you have lots of repositories to backup, you can use this feature for creating backups for all repositories in your account automatically - instead of clicking the backup button a couple hundred times manually.
This feature has been requested quite often and we believe this will save you a lot of time.
About a month ago we have introduced GitHub Organizations in BackHub. During a four weeks migration period, repositories owned by organizations you are associated with have been listed alongside your personal repositories.
Today this migration period ends. In order to create new backups of repositories owned by any of your organizations, please use a BackHub organizations account. Existing backups will remain in your personal account, or you can easily transfer them to the organization’s account using the transfer service in the account settings of your organization.
Another important change is that we will stop listing repositories you are collaborating on and that are owned by another GitHub user. We believe that the repository owner should be responsible for backups.
We want to keep things simple. From today on the repositories list works as follows:
If you have questions or need help to transition to an organizations account, please contact us.