There are many reasons why you should consider keeping an extra offsite backup of your repositories.
The number one cause of data loss is directly from users.
Here are a few scenarios that can lead to loss of data in a GitHub repository:
- A repository has been deleted accidentally from GitHub.
- The history of a repository was changed with git-reset or git-rebase and therefore has led to loss of data with a forced push.
- The contents of an issue or milestone etc. has been changed or deleted accidentally. Since there is no versioning for metadata, it is gone forever without a backup.
There are many other scenarios that could potentially lead to loss of data. We therefore strongly recommend to backup all your data.
With BackHub you can restore your current backup directly back to GitHub or rollback to a previous state of your repository and metadata from any of the backup snapshots up to 30 days back in time.