Frequently asked Question (FAQ)

Backups

Principally yes, once you have made a backup on BackHub you can delete the repository on GitHub. Please be aware of the constraints when restoring mentioned above.

When you delete a repository at GitHub, BackHub keeps the latest backup that has been made before the repository has been deleted. However, BackHub will try to continue updating the backup since there no way for us to see through the GitHub API whether the repository has been deleted or is just temporarily not available. To prevent this, please deactivate recurring backup as indicated in the screenshot:

Archive Repository

Your backup will be then listed in “Archived”.

When you create a backup, it’s atomatically set to recurring and is being updated on a daily basis. In some cases you might want to deactivate the recurring backup and prevent the backup from being updated.

Deactivating recurring backups is also necessary if you delete the original repository in GitHub. BackHub continues to try updating the backup every day since we can’t know for sure whether the repository is only temporarily unavlaible. Please deactivate recurring backups when you delete the original repository in GitHub.

To deactivate recurring backups:

  1. Go to your repository backup list
  2. Open the details for a certain backup
  3. Click on "Deactivate recurring backup"

Archive Repository

If you have “recurring” activated for your repository, backups are being updated on a daily basis between 2–6am UCT+1. Old backups are overwritten with every new backup. We do not support incremental backups yet.

Recurring is activated by default, however is deactivared automatically if we lose connection to the original repository at GitHub. That happens for instance when you delete your repository at GitHub. Your backup remains in BackHub but is marked as “not recurring”.

If you want to delete a backup (e.g. to downgrade your plan), open the details of a backup and click on the link “delete backup” in the bottom on the right side.

Restore GitHub Repositories

You can move backups belonging to an organization in your personal account over to your organizations account. If you want to move a backup from one user to another, please restore the repository back to GitHub and use "Transfer Repository" in the repository settings to transfer the data to another GitHub user.

The backup includes the complete git repository plus GitHub related meta data associated with the repository like issues and milestones.

We are including all data available via the GitHub API. This currently includes:

Code
Commits
Branches
Releases
Issues
Pull Requests
Milestones
Wiki
We save all backups on our secure servers in Germany.

Organizations

a) You might not have the permissions needed to create backups

In order to create backups for repositories owned by an organization, you need to have the owners role in that organization or have admin rights to a specific repository.

In order to change a person's role to owner, follow the instructions on GitHub Help

b) We might not have the permission to access your organization's repositories

You might have not granted us access to your organization's repositories when first logging in to BackHub or you might have a new organization membership we aren't aware of.

In order to solve this issue, please grant us access to your organization in your GitHub account settings. Then login again to BackHub

The advantage of an organizations account is that backups are shared. All organization owners and admins can create backups for any repository owned by the organization or can access and restore existing backups. GitHub organization owners and admin roles are managed in your GitHub account settings for your organization. You can read more about user roles in GitHub over here. Shared backups are particularly useful, if you are using BackHub as an archive for your inactive repositories and a team member needs a repository that has been archived by another team member. Also in case a team member who has created backups leaves the company, backups will remain in your organizations account.

Plans & Pricing

Yes, we offer plans up to 600 repositories which is the size of the largest plan at GitHub. However, if you are using BackHub also for archiving repositories and you need a larger plan, please talk to us

0 Private Repositories 0 USD /month
30 Private Repositories 9 USD /month
75 Private Repositories 18 USD /month
150 Private Repositories 35 USD /month
300 Private Repositories 60 USD /month
600 Private Repositories 100 USD /month
900 Private Repositories 150 USD /month
1200 Private Repositories 200 USD /month
1500 Private Repositories 250 USD /month

Yes, we also offer annual plans in order to avoid too much bookkeeping hassle. You can change your plan at any time and get a refund for switching to a smaller plan during the year.

0 Private Repositories (annual) 0 USD /year
30 Private Repositories (annual) 108 USD /year
75 Private Repositories (annual) 216 USD /year
150 Private Repositories (annual) 420 USD /year
300 Private Repositories (annual) 720 USD /year
600 Private Repositories (annual) 1200 USD /year
900 Private Repositories (annual) 1800 USD /year
1200 Private Repositories (annual) 2400 USD /year
1500 Private Repositories (annual) 3000 USD /year

Restore

You can restore all meta data listed above but there are some limitations due to the GitHub API:

  • We currently can't restore Wikis automatically! They are stored in the backup but due to the GitHub API we can’t restore them. Please contact our support if you want to restore a wiki.
  • Pull requests are included in the backup but can only be restored as issues due to limitations of the GitHub API.
  • When restoring, all issues are filed by you and have the current date stamp but we include the original author and issue date as text in the issue description.
  • We don’t link @mentions. If we would do so, users who have been participating might get flooded with notification emails.
  • We don't assign issues in order to avoid email notifications when restoring. The information about the original assignee is written in the issue description.

You can download files of a repository backup directly from BackHub. The file download in BackHub is a ZIP package containing all files of the main branch and does not contain the whole repository with all branches. It’s the same you get when you download a ZIP at GitHub. This feature is intended to help you have a quick look into your files without having to restore the whole repository back to GitHub.

Our service works with GitHub OAuth and is dependent on the GitHub API. That is why it is not possible yet to restore or access your backups in case GitHub is not available. You can check the GitHub API status over here.

The good news is that we are working on a solution for that. We are planning to implement a GitHub independent login with a recovery password to be set in your account settings. You can then download a ZIP of the repository files or clone the repository via https.

In order to restore a backup, please go to your repositories list, click on a backup to open the panel for further details and click on the button "restore". In the restore dialog choose your GitHub account (user/organization), give the repository a name and click on "restore" once more. Make sure you don't use a name that is already taken by another repository in your GitHub account. If you want to restore as a private repository, make sure you have enough free private repositories left on your GitHub account. Restoring your repository back to GitHub may take a while depending on the size of your repository and the associated meta data. Usually it takes not more than 5 minutes.

Account

You can cancel your account any time. In order to cancel your account, please log in and send us a short notice using the feedback form.

When we cancel your account, we will

  • delete any existing backup in your account
  • cancel any active subscription
  • remove payment details
  • issue a refund for unused time on yearly subscriptions

Please note that when you login after cancellation a new, clean account with your GitHub username is created automatically.